Ali's Adventures

May 31, 2011

I can cross triathlon off my to-do list (sort of)

Filed under: Adventure,Plans — by Alison @ 2:17 pm

I completed one of my first adventures – the Early Bird Try-a-Tri. It’s a shorter version of a full triathlon, designed for first timers or recreational triathletes. The hard-core triathletes get to do longer distances but in about the same time.

The evening before race day, the Ottawa Triathlon Club hosted an orientation session. There were close to 100 people there, of all ages and sizes. It started in the pool area, where Geordie explained how to line up and what time we need to get there at. The more he told us “You’ll be nervous, don’t worry about it”, the more nervous I could feel myself getting. He then walked us from the pool to the transition zone, where the bike and run parts of the race would begin. He explained how to set up our gear, and which way to head out. After the hour-long session, I picked up my race kit and headed home.

After the kids went to sleep, I gathered up everything I’d need. I realized I didn’t have running or biking shorts, so my soccer shorts would have to do. I was planning on using my husband’s bike as mine is hooked up to the bike trailer and the front brakes are a bit suspect. We adjusted the bike, I tried it out and he loaded the car.

The next morning I got to Carleton just after 6:30, and set up my transition zone area. There were all ready quite a few people there, mainly in the try-a-tri section. After getting marked up, I headed to the pool to wait.

The swim distance was 100m,  2 laps of the Carleton University pool, and swimmers were self organized by time. There was a great atmosphere on the pool deck, and I chatted with a lot of very nice people. Most were first timers and everyone was a bit nervous. A swimmer starts every 5 seconds in one of the lanes, so the swimmer ahead of you has a 30 second lead. After finishing the swim and feeling good, I headed outside to put on my shoes, shorts and shirt. Luckily, this part wasn’t timed. The transition zone was about 500m from the pool, so I jogged/walked to my bike.

The bike course was just under 12 km along the canal. Along with those doing the Try-a-Tri, there were also the Duathletes (run-bike-run) on the course. I may have been passed by one of them twice, but with their fancy helmets and spoke less bikes they all started to look alike.

Finishing the bike with wobbly legs, I returned my bike to the racks and started on the run. It was a 2k loop, and we ended back in the parking lot. This was the hardest part for me, and I started to second guess myself and didn’t push as hard as I could have. I did finish running through the gate which made me smile. Then I noticed that my husband and kids had made it down to see me. Definitely the best part of the day!

I’m glad I did a triathlon, I’m proud that I finished, but I worry that I didn’t push myself enough. I guess I’ll just have to do another one and see if I can get better. I’m planning for the National Capital Triathlon at the end of July, and I may have convinced my daughter to do the Wylie Run Surf N Turf (swim-run) on the same day.

2 Comments »

  1. Good job! I’ve always wanted to try one but I’m not a strong swimmer and well I need to buy a bike. Way to go…looking forward to hearing about your next one!

    Comment by Alicia — May 31, 2011 @ 2:30 pm |Reply

  2. Woo hoo!!! I was shooting at the Experimental Farm that day and could hear all the cheering. It sounds like it was a lot of fun. I always feel the same way (about not pushing myself) after I run a race. But then I try to remember that I finished and I felt good, which is probably more important than over-doing it and having a miserable time 🙂

    Comment by eisangel3 — June 2, 2011 @ 8:30 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

