Ali's Adventures

November 6, 2011

Getting by with help

Filed under: Adventure,Kids — by Alison @ 10:26 pm

I’ve been solo parenting for the past month. It’s been going surprisingly well. The kids have handled it very gracefully, and with a few exceptions, our routine is pretty smooth. We probably ate more take-out than not for some weeks, particularly when the house was for sale. And now that the house has sold, my cleaning fervour has died out.

But the real reason it’s going so well, has been the help from family and friends. My parents have been fantastic. This morning I wasn’t feeling great, I called and asked if my parents could take the kids to church for me. My dad had planned on going to the stables, but my mom convinced him to postpone. I dropped the kids to them before 9:30 and they stayed with y parents until 1pm. I was able to sleep and felt so much better.

And they aren’t the only ones helping out. My sister comes by every week for lunch and to visit. My brother and his girlfriend came for supper, helped put the kids to bed and cleaned the kitchen. Friends brought over supper one evening, another swung by with coffee and chocolate covered pretzels. I am lucky to be surrounded by good people. They have made the past few weeks bearable, but are unfortunately making leaving here difficult.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m just glad the Internet makes the world seem so much smaller – you won’t seem so far away! I’m also glad you have a good support network. I’ll bring coffee again soon 😉

    Comment by Lara — November 7, 2011 @ 6:45 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

