Ali's Adventures

November 8, 2011

Blissdom Recap- Better late than never

Filed under: Adventure,Learning,Social Media — by Alison @ 9:49 pm

I went to Blissdom Canada in October. I was on the fence about going, but am really glad I did. The experience was fantastic. I spent four days with an amazing group of women. SOme I knew well before the weekend, and the trip reinforced what I knew about them. Others I knew casually and after the weekend I am pleased to call them friends. I met other people at the conference, and tried to be open to chatting with people I’d never met before. The next social media conference I go to, I will try to prepare to meet more people. It would have been a good idea to check out some of the lists of people attending, and maybe read a few blogs.

The speakers at the conference were varied. I enjoyed the session with Gail Vaz-Oxlade. She was a straight talker and had some good points for women in business, that went beyond social media. It was a thrill to meet her afterwards and ask a brief financial question.

Anna Marie Tremonti was also gracious after her session and allowed us to gush all over her. Brie encouraged her to write her memoirs, which would be fantastic. Ms. Tremonti’s panel discussion was a bit underwhelming. I felt the theme of being Canadian in a borderless world is an interesting concept, but it focussed too much on the US market. I would have liked a broader perspective on the world. There’s a whole lot of the English-speaking world we don’t consider. The panelists were entertaining, so the session was enjoyable at the time.

One of my favourite things about conferences is the freebies and conference swag. As I’ve only ever attended academic conferences that’s usually limited to pens, notebooks and, if you’re lucky, lanyards. Blogging conferences are a whole different kettle of fish. Not only do they give you stuff, but there’s all sorts of fun stuff to do. My favourite sponsor booth was probably the Kraft Canada room. I really enjoy the Kraft What’s Cooking magazine, so it was nice to see some of the Halloween treats in real life. My sweet tooth enjoyed tasting the treats as well. Every treat had a scannable QR code beside it, that linked to the recipe. I thought this was really neat.

A close second was definitely the Philips suite. There were massages, manicures, coffees and fancy toothbrushes. The Philips Sonicare toothbrush was so incredible. I went a few times a day, until they gave me my own. I may be purchasing the junior version for E this Christmas.

I also liked getting my face on a Kellogg box. Gwen and Jen are two very fun people to hang around with.

I am thinking of printing this and taping it to my box of Cornflakes.

The conference provided me with some interesting things to think about as I still feel very new in the social media realm. I want to make sure I remain true to myself in whatever direction I take, and that my personal brand is one I’m proud of. Another key message for me was that everything you put on the internet is part of your digital legacy. I like the concept of it being a legacy, seems to raise my ramblings to a higher level.

I will admit that the highlight of the conference was this:

I hugged Jordan Knight. Hope Blissdom Canada 2012 can top that!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

