Ali's Adventures

November 24, 2011

What’s in your Christmas cookie jar?

Filed under: Cupcakes,Plans — by Alison @ 10:11 pm

Holiday baking is one of my favourite parts of the holidays. I have a few old favourites and I try to add a new one every year. Here’s what’s on my baking calendar.

1. Gingerbread cookies. I usually make classic gingerbread men, piped in white icing. This year I saw the Gingerbread star tree on the cover of Chatelaine, and if I can find the various sizes of star cookie cutters in time, I’ll make this as the centerpiece for Christmas.

2. Sugar cookies. These are my favourite. I have a refrigerated cookie dough, that we roll out in various shapes and ice liberally with butter icing. Stars and trees are te favourite as they have the best cookie to icing ratio.

3. Toffee squares. Shortbread base, covered with caramelized condensed milk and chocolate. Favourite part of this is the left over caramelized condensed milk. I could probably eat a whole can of that.

4. Chocolate truffles. Condensed milk and chocolate, in ball form.

5. Chocolate fudge. Condensed milk and chocolate, in square form.

6. Peppermint bark. Love this, so easy to make and looks impressive.

7. Gingerbread house. I just buy the kit, as we don’t usually eat anything other than the candy.

I still need to find something new to add. Any suggestions?

3 Comments »

  1. I love that cookie-to-icing ratio is a criteria :P. I never get around to baking, but now that S is old enough to ‘help’ we’ll have to try. I’ll let you know if I think of anything! Condensed milk and chocolate (in any form) is definitely high on the list :P. How do you make peppermint bark?

    Comment by Sasha — November 24, 2011 @ 10:20 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

