Ali's Adventures

June 7, 2012

Derby fitness: Update #1

Filed under: Plans,Vacation,Weight loss — by Alison @ 4:55 pm

Two weeks ago, I decided to get serious about getting healthy. There was a lot of positive response. I was feeling empowered, I stayed on track with my eating for two whole days and then we went away to Portland. There were donuts and street food, and not much of anything else. Instead of throwing in the whole towel, I went to the Weight Watchers location close to me and bought 2 3-month journals. They’re a little fancier than the ones I used before, but I like the purple tracking pages even if I don’t use the good health guidelines checklist or write in my thoughts for the day. For the last week, I have stayed on track food-wise and only used a handful of my extra points.

This week was also the start of the Rat City Roller Girls Makin’ Bacon Derby Camp. This means that in the past seven days, I have done 4 derby practices for a total of 7.5 hours on skates. I have to admit I loved all of it. I started with the beginner group this weekend and we focussed on basic skating skills. Cross-overs and derby stance squatting are quite a workout and my quads were screaming at certain points. At the end of Sunday’s session my counsellor asked if I wanted to try the novice group for this weekend. I’m going to give it a shot. They’ve already practiced hitting, I’m not sure what’s next on the training plan. At the end of the month, there are try-outs for the league. I haven’t decided if I’ll go or not. I think my chances of making the league are pretty slim, but it might just be a fun day.

I also did the 200 squat challenge assessment, and will be fitting that in next week. The running and plank a day haven’t started yet either. My form is pretty horrible for sit-ups and I’m straining my neck, I’ll put that on hold. I also need to restart yoga or a stretching routine. I’m feeling a bit beat up from the skating and it hasn’t even gotten physical yet.

All in all, it was a very successful week. And the scale showed it too, with a 10 lb weight loss. I know this is high, but I find when I first start following a healthier eating plan I have a rapid loss and then it stabilizes. I am not expecting to lose anything close to that in the next two weeks. I’ve also seen enough seasons of Biggest Loser to recognize the pattern happens for others as well.

Milestone rewards have been purchased and I updated them with the helpful suggestion of Sara

5 lb loss: Purchase new book I bought Ender’s Game and Divergent when I was in Portland.

10 lb loss: Toms shoes Trying to decide if I should order online or go to Nordstrom’s. May depend on tomorrow’s weather.

15 lb loss: Hair cut and style

20 lb loss: New outfit

30 lb loss: Derby shorts

40 lb loss: Book a beach vacation

Goal weight (45 lb loss): Outlet shopping spree

3 Comments »

  1. Wow! That’s awesome, good for you! I love the reference to The Biggest Loser tv show.

    Comment by Krista - The Tech Mom — June 11, 2012 @ 9:05 am |Reply

  2. I haven’t read it yet but it’s on my library list: Fit 2 Fat 2 Fit (the title actually has the number 2). The author is a trainer who as you can guess went from fit to letting himself go (something around 80 pounds) and than got fit again.

    Comment by Grace Stering Kirkman — June 21, 2012 @ 11:09 pm |Reply

    • That sounds really interesting. I’ll look it up. Thanks!

      Comment by Alison — June 22, 2012 @ 12:37 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

