Ali's Adventures

November 9, 2012

My favourite meal of the day

Filed under: Adventure,Food,Kids — by Alison @ 7:24 pm

I love brunch. To me brunch is an excuse to eat desserts for the main meal. I like pancakes, and anything that can be covered in maple syrup. And bacon, bacon is always a good addition. I also find that with kids, brunch is a great meal to have people over. It’s not too late in the day that the kids are tired, and we usually don’t have to work around different bedtimes of our friends.

Here are a two of my favourite brunch treats.

Cinnamon roll pancakes: I don’t bother with the swirls. I serve the cinnamon filling and cream cheese glaze with the pancakes and let people decide how much they’d like. I might try the swirls for a special occasion.

French toast casserole: This is always a hit. We love it made with egg bread, and we don’t caramelize (waste) maple syrup. It’s funny because I’m not a fan of traditional french toast because I find it too eggy but this casserole is delicious.

To balance all this sweetness, we also serve fresh fruit and then bacon. Sometimes, I’ll pick up a quiche. Our favourite was the Farm Boy quiche but the Whole Foods option is acceptable.

I’d love to expand my brunch repertoire, so we can have people over more than twice. Let me know if you have a recipe to share.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

