Ali's Adventures

November 11, 2012

Three

Filed under: Gratitude,Kids — by Alison @ 2:02 am

You woke up crying in the middle of the night last night, and when I went in to check you asked “Sleep with me” and put your arm around my neck. I climbed in beside you and covered us both up with blankets as you sighed and turned over and went back to sleep. Breathing in your unique sleepiness scent, I contemplated leaving but decided against it. I was your last night as a two-year old and I didn’t want to miss it.

This morning you woke up and you’re three. There are so many wonderful and fun things about you. How you’ve recently discovered thumbs-up and are constantly giving us two thumbs up or ‘big thumbs up’ when it’s something truly remarkable.

How at night, you tell me not to cuddle you but then end up sleeping on my head.

Your mischievous grin when you think you’re doing something funny. The fact that you usually are doing something funny and are getting your friends to follow along.

The way your face lights up when you see your big sister, and how happy you are to join in with the girls on the playground.

When you’re trying to get me to agree with you, how you’ll nod your head and say “that’s a good idea, isn’t it” even if it’s not. I think it’s great, that you negotiate with us and I’ll often agree because of your compelling argument and utter adorableness.

Your memory for events and people astonishes me. I should learn to trust it more and you should learn to trust my directional abilities as well.

The three years you’ve been in our lives have been three wonderful fun-filled years, but there have been challenges. And I’m sure there will be more as you continue to grow and assert your independence. Your tenacity and focus will serve you well.

I LOVE YOU H, Happy Birthday.

1 Comment »

  1. Happy birthday!

    Comment by Brie — November 11, 2012 @ 10:12 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

